Posted on



(file photo)

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party leader Raila Odinga addressing delegate at Kasarani Sports Gymnasium last year.


A Nairobi High Court have declined to halt the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party elections slated for tomorrow at Kasarani Safari com Stadium.

Six Kaspul Kapondo delegates had moved to court this evening to stop the elections on grounds that their names had been omitted from the party list.

Aggrey Omondi,Evans Harold Ndege,Jeremiah Omuga Oriango, Peter Odhiambo, Jacinta Anyango Olare and Zachary Asedo had under a certificate of urgency urged the court to suspend the National Delegate Convection as their democratic right to participate in electing new party natioanl office bearers had been violated.

However, High Court David Majanja dismissed their an application saying they had not exhausted the party dispute resolution mechanism.

Judge Majanja said the six ought to have registered their complainant with the party tribunal before moving to court.

The election to be held at Kasarani Sports Gymnasium where all the 26 positions from that of the Party Leader downwards will be contested will be a litmus test for the party

During the two-day event, some 3,200 delegates will deliberate on various matters of importance to the party and thereafter take part in the most important exercise which is the election of the national office bearers.The term of the current national officials of ODM came to an end in last month.

Ababu Namwamba is eying the secretary general slot.Namwamba’s line-up has Joho as its favorite candidate for the deputy party Leader position, Mr Nanok (chairman), Mr Simon Ogari (treasurer), Ms Roza Buyu (organizing secretary) and Suleiman Ndori (deputy organizing secretary).

Namwamba’s team will face off with Dr Agens Zani’s supporters who are fronting Funyula MP Paul Otuoma for chairman and Kakamega governor Wycliffe Oparanya as deputy party leader.

Party Leader Raila Odinga faces a herculean task of ensuring that the party gets a strong leadership that represents the face of Kenya. With 91 MP’s, 11 Senators and 16 Governors, spread in all parts of the country, there are those who feel the national leadership of the party should be evenly distributed across the country,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s